PDA

View Full Version : roof jack for metal roof

lastwoodsman
09-27-2010, 02:10 PM
Has anyone used the newer type roof jack for a metal roof that conforms to the ridges in the steel roof and seals tight when screwed down? It has a synthetic high temp. boot that surrounds the stove pipe.
It is made to alleviate the issues with a all metal roof jack on a steel roof.
Locally Lamperts lumber sells them locally here for about 120.00.

Woodsman

maple flats
09-27-2010, 05:21 PM
Unless it is specifically rated to be used on the stack of an evaporator I would shy away from it. Most non maple jacks are for conventional stove stacks where the temps are rarely at or above 700 degrees. A wood fired evaporator, once going is never below that temp. We burn full bore for hours, you need a roof jack made to take those temps.
I have been running with no jack for several years, with the steel roof close to the stack pipe and just a clooar above to send most of the rain/snow away from the pipe (shaped like a China mans hat that surrounds the pipe tightly)