PDA

View Full Version : Vacuum problems

Longyearfarm
02-20-2017, 08:24 AM
Hi all, I have a surge RV 2 vacuum pump that I've been using successfully for 3 years. This year has not been so successful.

Last year I had around 800-900 feet of 3/4" mainline with about 175 taps on it. I put in a sap ladder before last season to that has a 6' rise to get to a portion of the taps. I would consistently have around 15" at the end of the bush. Everything worked good.

This year I added another 400 feet of mainline and my new total of taps is 250. This is where my problems start...when I run the pump, the best I can get is 6" throughout the bush. When I valve off the mainline after the releaser, I can get 25". I've walked the line countless times with the hope of finding a leak. Nothing. My tubing system is pretty air tight.

Is my pump having a hard time keeping up with all of this mainline? Too many taps? Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks!

Matt

wiam
02-20-2017, 09:00 AM
Keep looking. There is a leak somewhere. The added mainline might take longer to build vacuum but would get there if tight.

SWEETER CREATIONS
02-20-2017, 09:10 AM
I agree with wiam you have a leak somewhere maybe even a spout that is in hollow wood ?

Tweegs
02-20-2017, 09:34 AM
I walk the main lines looking at that little loop from the saddle to the hook end.

If sap is zipping through there or it appears no sap has collected in it, you’ve got a leak on that lateral.

Longyearfarm
02-20-2017, 10:46 AM
So frustrating. I walked it again and found a small fuzz leak at a manifold. Repaired that but still only have 5" throughout. Maybe I should cut in some valves to isolate the leak?

bstewar
02-20-2017, 01:18 PM
I'm with you. I hooked up a guzzler and can't get any vac. Isolated the pump and holding vacuum well. Found two leaks and fixed but still nothing. Maybe a hollow wood tap? This is frustrating. Feels like I Lost the long weekend worth of sap.

maple flats
02-20-2017, 07:32 PM