PDA

View Full Version : solution to taphole drying??

ascutneymaple
02-15-2011, 07:00 PM
So I had a thought, not sure if it would work but may help to catch the early run and not have to worry about the premature drying of tap holes.

Situation: if I have about half 5/16" spouts and half 7/16" spouts, couldn't you tap all the 5/16's early then when the season really comes around, take out the 5/16's, re-drill the hole with 7/16" bit and replace with the 7/16" spouts, creating a fresh hole, then go tap the rest with the 5/16's that you took out.

I'm not a scientist but I know that the goal is to minimize any microbial contamination, so by drilling the bigger hole and giving a fresh surface seems like it may be a solution to the problem.

Let me know what you think.

collinsmapleman2012
02-15-2011, 07:06 PM
i was thinking of doing the same...

Jec
02-15-2011, 07:09 PM
That might work. Centering the 7/16" bit on the 5/16" hole might be tricky. After drilling a hole try taking a saw blade and rough up the hole. That should yield more sap per tree.
Hope this helps,
Jec

ennismaple
02-15-2011, 08:08 PM
What you've suggested is reaming. It has limited ability to increase yield because when you ream you spread the microbes across the face of the larger hole.

Do a search and you'll find multiple threads on this topic.

DrTimPerkins
02-15-2011, 09:00 PM
What you've suggested is reaming. It has limited ability to increase yield because when you ream you spread the microbes across the face of the larger hole.

Do a search and you'll find multiple threads on this topic.

Ennismaple is exactly right. Reaming will help a little, however all the studies that have been done show that the effect is very short-lived. The bacteria and other microrganisms have already spread beyond the taphole area itself and quickly shut down flow again.

3rdgen.maple
02-15-2011, 09:14 PM