+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Foaming Syrup Pan

Default Foaming Syrup Pan

I am boiling on a Leader 2X6. The syrup started to foam in the front pan just before draw-off, to the point it boiled over the side of the pan on the draw- off side. I am using a defoamer and I have had no problems with foam in the sap pan. The only way to settle things down was to open the evap door to reduce heat. As soon as the door is closed it would begin to foam up again. I have been using this evap for several years and have not had this happen before. Sap pan level is about 1-1/2 to 2" in sap depth. Made some nice fancy today, but struggled through the foaming issue Any thoughts?

Sometimes you need to add 1 drop of defoamer at every fueling. I attended a seminar by a Leader employee who said you should add 1 drop IN THE FLUE PAN every time you add wood. If you do this he claimed you will never need to add any in the syrup pan. I was going to try it this year.
    Dave Klish, I recently ordered a 2x6 wood fired evaporator from A&A Sheet Metal which I will be converting to oil fired
    Now have solar, 2x6 finish pan, 5 bank 7x7 filter press, large water jacketed bottler, and tankless water heater.
    Recently bought another Gingerich RO, this one was a 125, but a second membrane was added thus is a 250, like I had.
    After running a 2x3, a 2x6, 3x8 tapping from 79 taps up to 1320 all woodfired, now I'm going to a 2x6 oil fired and a 200-425 taps.

Haynes Forest Products Guest

One drop Dang I see guys squirt a stream into the flue pan every time. I use maybe 10 drops for my 3x10.

Haynes Forest Products Guest

One drop Dang I see guys squirt a stream into the flue pan every time. I use maybe 10 drops for my 3x10. Sweet run maybe drawoff more often and longer draws. I always keep an eye out for the really big shinny bubbles because trouble is right behind them.