+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: anyone tapping this week?????

Default anyone tapping this week?????

I am looking at the weather for this week and wondering if anyone is planning on tapping this weekend??? I'm still learning and am looking for advice on dates to start tapping

Hey there 03,
    New myself and wondering the same. I [I]think[I] it's a bit early, but not too sure. I only tapped for the 1st time last year on a whim and it was 3-18 when I put in the 1st taps. So, I think we'll continue to get ready and try and be patient.......
    2008-1st Year= Gas grill+CampStove, 4 trees= 2+1/2 qts syrup
    2009-2nd Year=25x11 wood stove+ SS pan+ Camp stove for finishing+ 2 turkey fryers, 19 or so trees= 3gals
    2013-now @Lavoie's Sugar Shack (Backyard Sugaring on MTrader) ,evaporator and RO Lee built, sink with running hot/cold water,stainless table, a new filtering/bottling setup, a newly poured concrete floor....all the luxuries!!
    Now we have over 100 taps and in 2015 made over 30 gallons!

03, I'm looking at the 10-day forecast where you are, and it does look tempting... good conditions for the coming week. But then it looks like it's going to cool down again during the days starting next weekend.

Last year I tapped on the first weekend of March, and right now I plan on tapping on the last weekend of Feb. I'm starting to itch, though.
    Patrick

Wood fired barrel boiler and squirrel cage forced air
    Slowly warping plexi steam hood
    shiny selfmade copper pre-heater
    Fiddy something taps
    10x12 raised platform shack
    not enough coffee
    picked a bad year to give up ice cream

~~Maple Sugaring~~
    Occasional Creek Maple [+] On Facebook [+] On Twitter
    ~~~~Personal~~~~
    Shared pics [+] Best Imitation of Myself [+] On Facebook