+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Removing "Buddy"

Jim Powell Guest

Default Removing "Buddy"

This year, instead of throwing out three gallons of buddy syrup from last year, (I wanted the glass jugs), I decided to filter it through a carbon filter that was food grade and rated for use up to 180°F. I filtered it through once, and it tasted MUCH better, so for good measure I filtered it twice more. There was none of the “ziiiiizzzt” as Royalmaple so eloquently described. I wanted to try to use the same cartridge on the sap, to see if it would catch it there first. I did several runs that were NOT buddy yet. The carbon filter did not reduce the sugar content, and the final syrup tasted really good. However I had to shut down on the 16th and that was before my trees went buddy.

I have searched here for carbon filtering, but can’t find anything for fixing buddy sap/syrup. As a chemist, I am familiar with the use of carbon filtering for cleaning up reaction side products, as a homeowner on a well, I use it to clean up the rotten egg smell and as an enjoyer of Jack Daniels, I appreciate what it does for that fine product.

This is the carbon filter I used:

http://www.pentekfiltration.com/pdfs...P%20Series.pdf

So, that’s my story and I’m sticking to it!

Let me say again thanks to all of you for the valuable advice you give here to us rank amateurs.

Jim, are you saying that these filters could remove the unwanted taste in the sap, like they do to get iron and magnisum out of drinking water? You could be on to something here if it works.
    best outdoor syrup made in Maine...... loosing that title as we are moving indoors to a 12x16 sugar shack with a new to us 2x6 .
    Making syrup.

http://s724.photobucket.com/albums/ww248/TapME/

Running dark syrup thru a filter press with a little extra DE will definitely help lighten up the syrup.
    Brandon

CDL dealer for All of West Virginia & Virginia
    3x10 CDL Deluxe oil fired