+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Solar controller for Shurflo off-grid sap pump

Default Solar controller for Shurflo off-grid sap pump

Just got some access to a property to tap and I will need to have a solar pump set-up. I am not all that familiar with solar set-ups so I'm still learning. What is the difference between MPPT and PWM and which style do I really need?

Thanks!
    2016 - 2 x 4 Randy Worthen built arch and pans 11 taps; 2.625 gallons of syrup!
    2017 - 29 taps; 11.625 gallons of syrup!
    2018 - 30 taps; 98 pints bottled! New sugar house being built, new equipment coming!
    2019 - 125 taps; 50 gallons made! New 2x6 Smoky Lake Corsair arch, drop flue pan, auto draw. Smoky Lake filter press and Steam Bottler
    2020 - 173 taps; only 35 gallons made.
    2021 - 242 taps; New record! 50.5 gallons made!
    2022 - 321 taps; New record! 80 gallons made!

It depends a lot on the panels and battery you will be using as well as the power consumption required for your pump/s. Are you planning on using just one shurlo for vac and no transfer pump too?
    6th season solo sugar maker in a young sugar bush of mostly red maples
    320 taps
    2x6 self built arch, Flat pans w/ dividers
    New 12x16 sugar house
    CDL hobby 250 RO

I think I can get my collection tank close enough to the road to use my gas powered pump to transfer to the truck, so just one shurflo pump just for vacuum. I was looking at this solar starter kit on Amazon : Amazon.com : Renogy 100 Watt 12 Volt Solar Panel Starter Kit with 100W Monocrystalline Solar Panel + 30A PWM Charge Controller + Adaptor Kit + Tray Cables + Mounting Z Brackets for RV Boats Trailer Off-Grid System : Patio, Lawn & Garden and it has the option for both types of controllers....?
    2018 - 30 taps; 98 pints bottled! New sugar house being built, new equipment coming!
    2019 - 125 taps; 50 gallons made! New 2x6 Smoky Lake Corsair arch, drop flue pan, auto draw. Smoky Lake filter press and Steam Bottler