+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Smoky Lake Hybrid as a back pan?

Default Smoky Lake Hybrid as a back pan?

Hey everyone I just had my first boil yesterday on my homemade 2x5 oil tank arch (2x3 flat back pan with 2x2 front syrup pan both from Smoky Lake) and I get about 15gph running it normal and can push it up to 18-20GPH. I've been running this same setup for a couple years now and it does a great job but I am getting the itch to make some upgrades for next season. There is a lot of wasted heat going up the chimney that just isnt being absorbed by the flat back pan so ive always wanted to upgrade that to a flue pan either raised or drop but I was pricing some options out this morning on the SL website and the first thing is they only make drop or raised flue pans starting at 2x4 size and starting at $3,750 for the drop flue. I dont really need or want to extend my arch to accommodate a 2x4 back pan so I started thinking i wonder if anyone has ever run one of the hybrid pans with a front syrup pan. I saw one post in a thread where DoubleBrookMaple mentioned having a 2x2 front syrup pan with a hybrid in the back so it seems possible. I can get a 2x3 hybrid pan for $1,930 which is much more budget friendly. I have a couple questions:
    1. How far down do the drop flues extend below the mounting surface? I currently have 2" of space under my back flat pan and i just cant picture what the bottom of these hybrid pans looks like. I see the hybrid pan for the half pint calls out 4.5" deep flues.
    2. Do you think having the two extra channels in the back pan before the front pan would cause any major issues? My back pan is currently divided and i dont have any issues with making syrup back there.
    3. Do you think 20-25gph would be realistic?