+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Olde wives' tales about sugaring

Default Olde wives' tales about sugaring

Hey all! How many of you have heard the old trope of sticking a hunk of wood in a spile hole, supposedly to prevent bugs and infection from setting it?

My neighbour, a total sugaring noob, told me that he did that to his trees after reading about doing it on the interwebz.

Knowing his background as a paramedic, I pointed out that with a would you have to flush it out.

'Yeah', he said, 'then you pack it'.

To which I retorted: 'Yeah, with something sterile, not bits of stick off the ground.' I had clearly got up his a$$ somewhat by then, so said no more (he's now a cop lol).

Still, where did this old wives tale originate?!
    Been tapping since 2008.
    2018 - 17 taps/7 trees...819l sap, approx 28l syrup
    2019 - 18 taps/8 trees...585l sap, 28l syrup...21:1 ratio
    2020 - 18 taps/8 trees...890.04l sap...gave away about 170l, 30l snafu'd....23l total for me from approx 690l
    2021 - 18 taps/8 trees...395l sap, 12 l syrup
    2022 - 18 taps/8 trees....7 sugars 1 red due to #2 having surgery so had the season off....582l sap, 18.5l syrup
    2023 - 18 taps/8 trees...all sugars again. 807l sap, so far approx 14l syrup

Definitely do not stick anything in the holes,it will take the tree much longer to heal
    7th generation maple producer in sugarhouse built in 1892
    2x World Champion Maple Syrup Producer
    1250 taps on cv adapters
    Leader Vortex 3x14 with Max Flue and Revolution Syrup Pan,Enhanced Steam Away
    www.leggettmaplesyrup.com

Quote Originally Posted by Bruce L View Post
    Definitely do not stick anything in the holes,it will take the tree much longer to heal
    My thoughts exactly. Doubtful that he will listen though. Fragile male ego and all that
    Been tapping since 2008.
    2020 - 18 taps/8 trees...890.04l sap...gave away about 170l, 30l snafu'd....23l total for me from approx 690l