+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Calculating the best tapping date

Default Calculating the best tapping date

With things being so wonky this year and being a scientist (meteorologist/IT guy by trade) I wanted to try and bring some "science" to the "art" of tapping and seeing if there is a formula for when to tap trees based on past data and current weather patterns. I've been at this for over 30 years and an old sugar maker that I learned most of what I know from told me when I was starting out to just tap around the same date each year and not pay too close attention to the weather forecast. I knew that I was mostly done by the end of March so I backed that up 6 weeks and have been tapping around 2/14 every year like clockwork.

This has mostly worked out but years like this I think I'm missing some early runs and since I know have access to vacuum systems, check valve spouts and long term forecasts that I never dreamed of 35 years ago I thought I should take advantage of that. I also have 40 years of weather records on my farm so I know what the weather has been like for the past 40 maple seasons and would like to see if there was a way to calculate when the best tapping date would have been based on the weather.

I did some searching and I saw one post about calculating degree days to determine that but it doesn't look that that is a valid method. I also found an article by the good Dr Tim about using the average temperature in a long term forecast to determine the tapping date but no determination on what temperature is best.