+ Reply to Thread

Thread: IDing Tap Holes

Default IDing Tap Holes

It's time for pulling spouts. Does anyone ID tap holes to make for quick finding them when tapping the next year?

If yes, what do you ID with? Spray paint?
    2023 - 2' X 6' Smoky Lake Products "Silverplate" evaporator + Increase taps up to 500
    2022 - 295 Sap Sak taps - Sold sap.
    2017-2021 - Didn't tap.
    2016 - 150 Sap Sak taps - Sold sap.

https://www.larrybohenwebsolutions.com

As a certified organic producer, I'm not allowed to use synthetic paint on my trees. Perhaps organic paint made from berries is ok but wouldn't be recognizable by the next tapping season.
    Ken
    Ken & Sherry
    Williston, VT
    16x34 Sugarhouse
    1,500 taps on high vacuum, Electric Releaser & CDL Sap Lifter
    Wood-Fired Leader 30"x10' Vortex Arch & Max Raised Flue with Rev Syrup Pan & CDL1200 RO
    https://www.facebook.com/pumpkinhillmaple/

I have wondered the same thing. Would be very interested in replies. Thanks for asking the question.

I think this is a great question. Seems like having a way to quickly locate last year's taphole would greatly speed up next year's tapping and would promote best use of the surface area of the tree.
    60ish taps on buckets
    D&G Sportsman 18x63
    Turbo RB15 RO Bucket