+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Vac issue......

Default Vac issue......

Okay, so I'm new to vac and lines. First year with it, bought my place with it mostly all set up, I've been in the woods as much as possible repairing drops and branch lines. Installed shut off valves on the branch lines, have a shut off valve at the pump ( guzzler single diaphram ) ....fyi 400 taps. 1" main line 3/4 branch lines .

I'm getting nothing for vac at at any of my gauges, I replaced the duckbill valves with umbrella valves. I get random surges of sap every so often. Noticed some of my mainline up top is full of sap but not moving. Same with some of my drops. Its like the sap is locked in.

Any suggestions will help.
    Last edited by Vt83maple; 03-10-2022 at 05:31 AM.
    2022 : 400 + / _ Taps on pipeline with a guzzler 500 vac pump and 25 on bucket for the kiddos
    2x6 Lapierre

I turned on my vacuum pump last week and have had inconsistent results since due to the frequent cold temperatures with only short durations of above freezing conditions.

It sounds like you don't have a dry line which makes it harder to get vacuum out to the end.

I'd say the surging is due to sags in your mains. And once the sap filled sags freeze then there's no way for vacuum to get to the trees. At least you know the lines are no longer frozen when you see surging and hear gurgling.

Even without sags, sap can freeze in the mains and cause blockage. If you pass thru culverts then that can be a bigger challenge since the sun never hits the line.

Ken
    Ken & Sherry
    Williston, VT
    16x34 Sugarhouse
    1,500 taps on high vacuum, Electric Releaser & CDL Sap Lifter
    Wood-Fired Leader 30"x10' Vortex Arch & Max Raised Flue with Rev Syrup Pan & CDL1200 RO
    https://www.facebook.com/pumpkinhillmaple/