+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Slight burned taste - old “grade B”? To sell

Default Slight burned taste - old “grade B”? To sell

Hi, happy fall season. I’m a small producer, made 35 gallons this year. I’ve sold a bunch at farmers markets, in all 3 grades - Golden, Amber, dark. However, the last batch of dark I made got a little burnt taste, from a combination of niter on the bottom of my syrup pan, or allowing the syrup level in the Pan get too low as I drew off and that burned it. It still tastes very good, very maple-y, but with a slightly burnt taste. First question is, will some customers like this taste? Im wondering if it similar to the old “grade B” that was so popular? I told people at the farmers market about the slightly burned taste, and they said that’s what they wanted, like the old dark grade B.

I have 5 gallons of this to sell (discounted) or use in some way, and looking for ideas. Is it reasonable to put it on a retail shelf noting the stronger, slightly burned taste? I don’t want it to affect my quality reputation. If I can’t sell it retail, will someone but the 5 gallons as bulk? We cook with our syrup, but couldn’t use more than a gallon. Of course we can and will give a lot away as gifts as long as they don’t mind the taste. Thanks for any input you can provide.
    2022 is season 7
    2016: 20 taps on buckets, 4 gallons on a borrowed 2x3.
    2017: 32 taps on buckets, 8 gallons of syrup, on a "loaner" Lapierre 19x48.
    2018: 80 taps. First time tubing. New 10x12 sugar shack, Lapierre 2x5. Made 17 gallons
    2019: 100 taps. 22 gallons. Added a small RO 50 gph.
    2020: 145 taps, 30 gallons, sold half. Murphy cup is a great addition.
    2021: tapped Feb 23, 150 taps, 35 gallons.
    2022: 200 taps. I lost 50, added 100. Having fun but short season?