+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: When to stop collecting?

Hybrid View

Default When to stop collecting?

Quick question for the group. I've been making syrup for about 6 years as a hobby. I've heard there is a time when the SAP will turn sour due to the tree's budding. I live in Wisconsin and am finding it difficult to understand when the tree's are "budding". One year I went too long and had to scrap a batch due to the taste and don't want to do that again.

1. How do you identify when to stop?
    2. Can you taste the SAP and tell?
    3. Is there a typical date when it's time to pull out the taps.

Thanks in advance.

Dates are all over the map depending on the weather. You usually can smell the sap when it’s gone to bud. Or if it’s yellow or too cloudy. If you’re on buckets you can decide tree by tree, tubing it’s more of an all or nothing decision.

If in doubt, keep the latest sap separate until you test boil it. Bad sap will smell like dirty socks.
    The type of trees will vary greatly when you should quit. Sugar maples have pointed buds early on, as the season nears the end they will swell, then at the very tip a little color will appear, they are done then. On Red maples the sap will stop flowing before you need to quit, on silver maples the buds, which are large flat top clusters will open and flower, (reds also have very similar buds). Once any color appears on the buds, time is over. Both Reds and silvers will be over a week and maybe even more than 2 weeks before sugar maples are done. The timing does not use a calendar, it's all related to the weather.
    Here in central NY I've been done some years as early as March 22, and as late as April 24. Every year is different.
    Dave Klish, I recently ordered a 2x6 wood fired evaporator from A&A Sheet Metal which I will be converting to oil fired
    Now have solar, 2x6 finish pan, 5 bank 7x7 filter press, large water jacketed bottler, and tankless water heater.