+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Divided pan use - Question

Default Divided pan use - Question

Hi

I've got a well made divided pan for my backyard boiling. 21" x 24", 6" deep, with three troughs and a warming tank with spigot on top. I'm new to using a divided pan. I understand that you set the spigot on the warming tank to let new sap flow into the pan at the same rate water in the sap is boiling off from the pan. I've use the pan to successfully make a few gallons of syrup, so far. What I'm now wondering is if I'm using it correctly.

I've started by putting an inch of sap in the pan, get it boiling, then slowly add more sap from the warming tank to get it to ~2". Then I keep that level going until I'm out of more sap to add, or until what's in the pan makes it all the way to syrup, as evidenced by it's boiling temperature rising to 219 degrees. Once I'm there, I draw off the whole contents of the pan, all at once. I send it through a filter and into a tank where I'll get it from later to finish and can it.

Filtering is a problem. The amount of sediment is so much that it clogs the filter before all the syrup makes it through. My question is, can/should I be using the divided pan to run a continuous (slow) draw off, which will also let me manage the filtering stage better? I'm trying to understand if I'm using the syrup density gradient aspect of the divided pan correctly or not. The thought I had was that even though I have a divided pan, the way I'm using it right now seems to not be appreciably different than if I was just using a wide open pan.

Thank you to anyone who has time to share their wisdom about it!

-John