+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rookie maple syruper

Default Rookie maple syruper

I already posted this message in my regional forum, but I thought I would introduce myself here as well
    Hello, new to the forum here. This is my first year at trying the maple syrup. My sugar bush is in northern ontario. I built a small A frame shanty out of 2x4s and vapor barrier this winter to keep my boil out of the elements. Im planning on tapping 60 trees (maybe more, lol). I have been packing the trail down all winter so it should be fairly easy to access the trees. and I bought a 2x3 evaporator from CDL with a homemade stove under it.
    The property is not accessible by vehicle in the winter so I have been working on sledding everything in with my snowmobile. I still have to tow in the stove, but I welded flatbars on the bottom of the legs to act as skiis so I can pull it in. Then it will be another trip to bring in all the fire brick.
    I've been scanning through the forums, and wow lots of information. I've come to the right place. I'll post some pics of my setup on the weekend once I get everything out there.
    Cheers

Welcome. Glad to have someone new joining the maple world! I started small and have grown a lot. It's part of the journey!
    Jake
    smoky lake 2x6 drop flue SSR on homemade arch
    235 taps on 2 gast 1550s and lappiere releasers
    24x12 sugar house
    2019 Kubota L2501 work horse

Good luck, Brien....I’m in rookie year as well, about 150 tapped, mostly on a small vac system that’s solar run. We have a small shack, a hobby RO (The RO Bucket’s RB45), a Lapierre Waterloo Small Lp evaporator and a homemade vacuum filter. It will be interesting!! Have fun getting everything set up! Ellen