+ Reply to Thread

Thread: ISpring 500GPD RO unit....Good to use?

Question ISpring 500GPD RO unit....Good to use?

I have the opportunity to pick up this small commercial RO unit made by ISpring and is rated for 500GPD. I’m new to RO systems and was wondering if this unit can be used? Do I require 3 filters only? This thing has 5 bottles but I think the last one I’ll disconnect as it’s meant for the tap water (I think). I’ve attached a photo of the unit. Any help would be greatly appreciated. The unit is worth like $800 new and I can get it for $400. I don’t have time to build one. I will be collecting approximately 200G of sap.

DDD20EAB-9245-4C9C-A30C-D8351F66A6B7.jpg
    6308D859-3F27-4648-A5BF-10AFA74EFF6F.jpg

You will need to know what membranes it has, ones for water are not the same ones used for maple. Plus you will need to watch the plumbing, On water RO's they throw out the part we keep.
    Dave Klish, I recently ordered a 2x6 wood fired evaporator from A&A Sheet Metal which I will be converting to oil fired
    Now have solar, 2x6 finish pan, 5 bank 7x7 filter press, large water jacketed bottler, and tankless water heater.
    Recently bought another Gingerich RO, this one was a 125, but a second membrane was added thus is a 250, like I had.
    After running a 2x3, a 2x6, 3x8 tapping from 79 taps up to 1320 all woodfired, now I'm going to a 2x6 oil fired and a 200-425 taps.

Yes that I understand...the waste portion of the system is what we keep (sap). As for filters I also understand not to use the charcoal filters and just use 5mic sediment filters only. What I’m unsure of is if I need 3 filters or just 1? Also is there a filter in the large bottle at top (4 filters??)