+ Reply to Thread

Thread: leaving sap in evaporator question

Default leaving sap in evaporator question

Hello . I am new to this and have been getting a lot of my questions answered from all of you with much more experience. I did do some boiling on a homemade , flat bottom pan a couple years ago and was hooked. Then , I did the the days boil and dumped my pan at the end of the day and finished on the kitchen stove. This year I have purchased a Thor Hobby evaporator. It had an 18"x24" dropped flue pan and an 18"x 12" flat syrup pan. My question is this. I am a part time, weekend boiler. What do I do at the end of the day with what is in the pans. I assume I could block off the front pan and finish it and draw off , but what about the dropped flue pan. Can I leave the sap in there overnight, or even for a couple days? Will it freeze and ruin my pan? I should also mention this year I will e set up outside . I thought I would just put my covers on the pan and come back the next day or two and start up but then I thought maybe the sap would freeze???? The sap in the divided dropped flue pan would be partially boiled but when it mixes as it cools it will still be a long way from syrup. Do I need to dump this out and put it back in the next day ?? How cold is safe to leave it? How many days could it stay there ?

That's a common question for newbees. As long as you boiled hard at least 3 hrs the sugar % is high enough to just leave it in the pan. Even if it starts to freeze it will only form a slush on the top. If more than 2 days before your next boil, light a fire and bring it to a boil for at least 10 minutes, add sap if needed (but only enough to maintain depth, don't add too much and dilute it) and then you are good for 2 more days. Repeat if necessary.
    You are actually in more danger if the contents get too warm, that helps micro-organisims grow and feed on the sugar, remedy, boil again at least 10 minutes hard.