+ Reply to Thread

Thread: ATMOS 300K or TRANS-O 580 ?

Default ATMOS 300K or TRANS-O 580 ?

Next year I plan to have a small hobby size divided flat pan evaporator (consider 2x3) to replace my current buffet pan system.
    Many posts on this site discuss the need for use of defoamer and the relative ineffectiveness of common household methods compared to engineered products.

As other folks have mentioned in other posts, I watched the video version of a report titled, "Identifying an Effective Defoamer for Certified Organic Maple Production" partially written by Dr Tim from this site.
    Very informative and brings up a lot more questions for someone (me) who is just learning this fancier method of boiling sap.

I'm not looking to be organic, but a family member is terribly impacted by anything gluten, and to a lesser extent dairy products.
    If a defoamer product is made from plants there is a chance it may have gluten involvement and terrible for my family.

I have no experience with either product or the use of defoamer in general.
    Based on what I read on this site plus the forementioned report it seems I should avoid the various kitchen oils because of their being less effective and try either ATMOS 300K or TRANS-O 580.
    ATMOS 300K seems to turn solid very easily in a cold shack environment, and that might not be a good thing when I would need to put a drop into the pan.
    How does TRANS-O 580 behave in a cold environment?
    Will changing from liquid-solid-liquid cause separation of the product, and possibly it's effectiveness?
    Is there anything else that would be a concern with either of these products?

Typing either name for a Google search wasn't very productive.
    Where can a consumer look to purchase either product, and how small of a container is available for the typical backyarder?
    Do these products have a shelf-life once opened, and what about still sealed containers held until next season?