+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How long does a sap run last?

Default How long does a sap run last?

Sap started flowing (yesterday I think?) here in my corner of the woods. I’m new to this, and am wondering how long a single sap run will flow if the weather doesn’t freeze at night?

In Southwest PA the weather has been pretty cold for the last 2-3 weeks, between 4-30 degrees and never above freezing. Pretty cloudy too so not a lot of sun warmth. It reached 40ish yesterday, low 40’s today and like 57 tomorrow. But the night temperature hovers right above 32 degrees, so we probably will not get a good hard freeze.

Surely the sap will stop flowing at some point if the weather stays above freezing, right? And then needs a freeze and thaw to start flowing again?
    2021 - first year, planning for 200 taps with a 2x5' flat pan with copper drop tubes

Welcome to the madness! I've had my trees run all night in the circumstances you describe but I don't think for more than a couple of nights. Means for an early morning check to ensure you aren't coming home to overflowing pails. Dr Tim Perkins, a moderator here, can best describe the freeze/thaw thing for you. But the short answer to your question about how long a sap run can last is....as long as it lasts *shrugs*
    Been tapping since 2008.
    2018 - 17 taps/7 trees...819l sap, approx 28l syrup
    2019 - 18 taps/8 trees...585l sap, 28l syrup...21:1 ratio
    2020 - 18 taps/8 trees...890.04l sap...gave away about 170l, 30l snafu'd....23l total for me from approx 690l
    2021 - 18 taps/8 trees...395l sap, 12 l syrup
    2022 - 18 taps/8 trees....7 sugars 1 red due to #2 having surgery so had the season off....582l sap, 18.5l syrup
    2023 - 18 taps/8 trees...all sugars again. 807l sap, so far approx 14l syrup