+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Filter press shopping

Default Filter press shopping

Good afternoon everyone.
    I have decided to start shopping for a short bank filter press. I have priced a CDL, Westfab and a Smokey Lake. Any one have thoughts or opinions on which one we should get? I have never used one before.
    1986-2002 2x6 Leader evaporator 150 taps drop tubes
    Life happens
    2015 130 taps drop tubes and sap sacs
    2016 225 taps drop tubes and sap sacs
    2017 300+? MicRO single membrane
    2019 325 taps 81 gallons made, most ever for us
    2020 2x6 Smoky Lake evaporator 400 taps with 160 on a guzzler pump
    2021..... a lot more line and vacuum

I don't think you could go wrong with any of those. I would make sure to get a air diaphragm pump instead of a gear pump. We have a Leader press and it works great.
    CDL 2.5*8 Venturi with all the bells
    Leader Clear 5 bank filter press
    Memprotec 350H RO
    600ish taps and looking for more.

Wesfab makes a good press at probably less cost than CDL but not 100% sure on that. I am sure CDL makes a good press too. We like our 7” Wesfab press. We have a gear pump, but if we got it new it would been with an air pump. We’ll replace it some day. Air pump is the way to go.
    Smoky Lake makes nice stuff but their filter presses are stainless. Sounds good but must be pretty heavy. Some mixed reviews on their website but that happens to everyone.
    305 taps on 2 Shurflo's, 31 taps on 3/16" and 229 taps on gravity. 565 in all
    Mountain Maple S3 controller for 145 of the vacuum taps
    2x6 Darveau Mystique Oil Fired Evaporator w/ Smoky Lake Simplicity Auto Draw
    Wesfab 7” filter press