+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What do you “Feed” your squirrels?

Hybrid View

Default What do you “Feed” your squirrels?

Have set up a feeding station near the sugar house where I am “ feeding “ the squirrels,they have definitely found it,but numbers don’t seem to be declining yet
    7th generation maple producer in sugarhouse built in 1892
    2x World Champion Maple Syrup Producer
    1250 taps on cv adapters
    Leader Vortex 3x14 with Max Flue and Revolution Syrup Pan,Enhanced Steam Away
    www.leggettmaplesyrup.com

Before providing input to this topic I would like to acknowledge that I am not a professional producer and therefore I do not have the stresses that come with making a living as a farmer and the headaches of dealing with wildlife. That being said, I encourage you to find an alternative means of dealing with squirrels other than feeding them because non-target species are practically guaranteed to be affected either through direct consumption of the bait or by eating dead squirrels. Poisons bioaccumulate and move up the food chain killing many animals. I don’t know what the answer is to the issue, but I hope that another choice can be made.
    60ish taps on buckets
    D&G Sportsman 18x63
    Turbo RB15 RO Bucket

I feed mine with lead pellets from my shotgun.

Spud

I tend to just let some steele shot from my 12 gauge take care of them. Wife gets a little squeamish, doesn't seem to bother the kids much. And I can personally Guarantee that it is a quick and humane death, usually there isn't much left to even clean up.
    Nate Hutchins
    Nate & Kate's Maple
    2022 1000 taps?
    3x10 Intensofire
    20x36 sugarhouse
    CDL 600gph RO
    A wife and 2 kids.

Switched from the 12 gauge to a Ruger 10-22 with a scope this year. Wear it over my shoulder while replacing taps or drops. Got a bunch during setup and had almost no squirrel chews during the season.
    -Ryan

Went off the deep end. Might be in over my head...