+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Really, how often to add wood?

Default Really, how often to add wood?

I'm just getting started with my first real wood fired evaporator (smoky lake Dauntless). First test boil will be tomorrow.

I've read in many places that you want to cut your wood to wrist size - fine - and add the wood every 8 minutes or so - not so fine.

I don't need to be reaching maximum GPH boil at all times. My Dauntless is plenty big for the amount of sap I'll have, probably overkill. But I want the thing to boil and I want the sap to evaporate, and yet I'd love to be able to do the million other things I need to do on a given day without adding wood to the fire every 8 minutes.

So - obviously I'll be able to try this myself shortly. But, just so I can ballpark this, and get your opinions:

Every 8 minutes? Really?

(I have a mix of softwood and hardwood, mostly soft. Like 90% soft. I know that matters, and I know that there are a lot if variables, but big picture I just want to know if this 8 minutes thing is a perfect ideal that isn't strictly necessary, or if something like it is.)

If you want syrup, you will need to tend your fire - 8 minutes, 10 minutes, 15 minutes, 20 minutes - you will take longer to get to syrup is all. Wood is not the only thing that needs constant attention in an evaporatopr. Still won't have time to tend other things. It's not a wood stove for heat, it's a "race car" and needs attention, a lot of it. Besides, once you start, you will want to get the highest evaporation rate you can, at least that's the way I am. Get your sap boiled and then go off and do your other things, You'll be more efficient, in the end.
    2016 - helped at afriend with a small operation, 300+ taps. = hooked
    2017 - 20 taps @ home, 1 gal @ home on propane, then hauled to friends operation
    Bought a whole shack locally, with a Leader 1/2 Pint, moved it home