+ Reply to Thread

Thread: First time problems

Default First time problems

Hi, this is my first time trying out tapping trees; wanted to show my kids what it was like. I did it a lot as a teenager and earlier with the family, 200+ trees a year, but that was 20 years ago, so I know I've forgotten all the important bits. Anyway, I have 5 silver maples (Western NY) that I tapped with my boys. 7/16" with metal spiles about 2" into nice yellow wood at a 15 degree upward angle on a day with a high of 45. I've gotten nothing, not even a drop. Now, my property is in an area that has a lot of clay and a high water table, so I'm assuming that isn't helping. Right now it's been below freezing for 4 days so I know that is the current reason, but I cannot figure out why it didn't start good and then taper off. If it was one bad tree I'd chalk it up to bad luck, but 5? Any thoughts would be appreciated!

Trees are still frozen. I did not have any sap 3 days ago when it was 40 out and now it's 19(Big drop in barometric pressure too). When things warm back up next week (Monday in the upper 30's lower 40's) things sould start flowing again.
    backyard hobbyist
    Mason 2x3 w/AUF
    2020 - added small vacuum and gravity 5/16 tubing and sap sacks
    N 42* 18' 31."
    W 79* 34' 15."
    https://www.saptapapps.com/map/31868...-aab748a6394e/

OK, well I don't have all the answers but I'll give you my two cents. I too started with taps your size. That is a good sized hole so as long as the drill bit has cleared the wood debris, thats a lot of area for sap to flow through. Most now, including us, have gone to a smaller tap, almost as much sap, more sustainable for the future. But that is your choice and your trees.
    We have a few hundred silver maples and I can say that they are much more fickle than sugar maples as far as giving sap.
    That 45 degree day may not have been enough to thaw that vertical block of ice (the tree trunk).