+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to Tapping and Weeping Holes

Default New to Tapping and Weeping Holes

I am new to tapping and have a few questions as I have tapped about 10 maple trees in our yard this year. For the trees I tapped they seem to be weeping maple sap and honestly it looks like they are weeping a lot. Some of them have wet spots that go all the way to the ground. Is that normal? My other question is some of the tap holes have been producing well last week and in the last couple days they seem to have very little production. Is it normal to have this type of variation in production from day to day?

Thank in Advance!

Mike

New spiles will leak for a few days until they seal up. That's normal. What's not normal is if they continue to do it. Make sure you don't drive the spiles in to deep. It can split the wood and then it will not stop leaking. Just seat the spiles work a light hammer until they make a solid thud. It doesn't take much to seat them. Flow will vary day to day. That's normal.
    Jake
    smoky lake 2x6 drop flue SSR on homemade arch
    235 taps on 2 gast 1550s and lappiere releasers
    24x12 sugar house
    2019 Kubota L2501 work horse

If I drive the spiles in to deep and the weeping wont stop then what do I do? Can I back the spiles out? Should I take the spiles out completely?

Thanks!
    Mike

Not alot you can do if they are too deep and split. You will just have to leave them and you get what you get and it will be a learning lesson for next year. I usually only see splitting on red maples. Chances are they are just not sealed completely, I wouldn't worry too much unless you see sap dripping off bark somewhere!!
    18x30 sugarshack
    5100 taps high vac
    3x10 inferno with steampan
    7'' wes fab filter press
    10'' cdl air filter press
    D&G 3 post reverse osmosis w/recirculation