+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: how to stop boiling?

Default how to stop boiling?

Greetings,
    I am a complete rookie and this is my first year. I have been reading and learning a great deal here. THANK YOU!
    I am recently retired and jumping into this with both feet. I have 47 acres and with probably 1/3 of that sugar maples. Since its my first year probably 50 taps max....probably won't get bigger than that in the future...right????
    I am building myself and oil tank evaporator, insulated and bricked. I'm having local supplier build me a 2x4 flat open pan with draw off valve.

So, I will be boiling a batch to near syrup and drawing off to finish and pack in mason jars on propane stove inside.
    My question is how to not burn the bottom of my pan when I draw off?
    Do I have to somehow remove the pan from the top of the evaporator and then draw off?
    How about lifting the pan up off the top rail of the evaporator and slide some 3 inch angle iron to prop it up off the heat?
    As I get down to a certain depth....1 inch??? +/-??? Do I just stop feeding the fire and let it cool down and hope it doesn't evaporate too much more? I realize I will have to "learn" the rate at which my evaporator burns.
    Last edited by TonyMo; 02-08-2020 at 04:23 PM.

Some batch evaporators have a frame on the side that your pan slides onto, you could build one like that. You can also stop firing when at near syrup and finish on a propane burner. If it were me i'd get a divided pan then you can draw syrup and still have sap in your pan.
    125-150 taps
    Smokey Lakes Full pint Hybrid pan
    Modified half pint arch
    Air over fire
    All 3/16 tubing
    Southern Ohio

^^^the guy making my pan builds evaporators and pans of all different types. He tells me I don't have enough taps (50)/sap to run a divided pan.

I was thinking of ways to weld in some removable brackets that I could slide the pan onto