+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Aluminum evaporator pan?

Default Aluminum evaporator pan?

My current evaporator pan is a mild steel pan that is probably 50+ years old. I have been using it for the past 18 years. This year, it started leaking and it is beyond repair. I would like to get a stainless steel pan to replace it, but I have a hard time trying to justify the cost. I only do this for a hobby. I normally end up with less than 8 gallons of syrup in a year which I save for my own use and give to friends for Christmas.
    I currently have access to a large sheet of aluminum, which I believe is 12 guage. Is there reason that I would not want to have a pan made out of aluminum?

Aluminum is a neurotoxin and shouldn't be used in any type of food processing !!

Sell the sheet of aluminum and buy a sheet of stainless. 12g aluminum for 20 to 22g stainless should close to equal in price give or take a few bucks.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by saphead View Post
    Aluminum is a neurotoxin and shouldn't be used in any type of food processing !!
    Aluminum is a neurotoxin but I think that conclusion is a little overblown. Can you site a source?

I wonder if the main problem is that aluminum welding is challenging and the cost savings would be minimal compared to stainless?
    60ish taps on buckets
    D&G Sportsman 18x63
    Turbo RB15 RO Bucket

I should add that aluminum is reactive to acids and sap can be somewhat acidic.
    60ish taps on buckets
    D&G Sportsman 18x63
    Turbo RB15 RO Bucket

That's funny I just ate green beans and gravy made in aluminum pots in my kitchen. Pots that I got out of a restuarant.
    If you'd have asked if you could have used copper , English tin , stainless, glass you'll still get some crazy warning. Look up the pros and cons online and do what works best for you.