+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Syrup depth

Hybrid View

Default Syrup depth

What does everyone use to measure depth in your pan. I have a sl hybrid pan and I see they are selling a sight glass can be connected from the float box or the draw off. Tia

I looked at the prices of sight glasses, spit out my milk violently, and just made my own with some fittings and clear tubing. Before I fire up I fill the pan to the depth I want to keep and have two zip ties on the sight I set as high and low limit of where I want to run. Then it's simply making sure I'm in between those all day. Granted, I'm just a hobby producer. No float box, just a feed pan and this setup works fine for me. Rig runs nice and steady and I get consistent draws as long as I have enough to boil to draw
    42.82N
    2015 - Small operation. 25 buckets. One excited 5 year old and one 35 year old that feels 5 again.
    2016 - One year older. New Homemade 2x4 Arch, Smoky Lake Pan and looking at 52 maples, 17 box elders and 2 walnut trees.
    2017 - Shurflo 4008 hooked to 42 stingy silver maples and a few Norways. A couple buckets on sugars and Norways. 10 box elders.
    2018 - ...a few more taps.
    2019 - ...more taps on 3/16 gravity. This spiral is heading downward in a hurry.
    2020 - 4x400 RO - RB20 (uh-oh!)

Do you have a picture of that setup

We run 1" over the flues in the back and 2" deep in the syrup pan. The float in our syrup pan takes a while to react given the size of the pan so the extra depth keeps us from scorching it.
    4,600 Taps on vacuum
    9,400 gallons storage
    3 tower CDL RO
    3.5'x14' Lapierre Force 5
    Twitter & Instagram: @ennismaple
    www.ennismaple.com

Ok so how do you measure that. My flues are drop flue

Quote Originally Posted by jbutton View Post
    Ok so how do you measure that. My flues are drop flue