+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Need some advise on suckers

Default Need some advise on suckers

First I will say that I am a newbie to the Sugarbush. I was just out there and noticed a lot of my maple trees have suckers growing from the base. A lot of them are three or 4 inches in diameter. Just wonder if they should be taken out or left? I have both soft and hard maple and most of these are on my soft Naples.

I usually remove them but not always. If the larger tree has any defects I sometimes will leave one sucker. However I have not yet had to remove the main tree to see if that sucker does well or not.
    Dave Klish, I recently ordered a 2x6 wood fired evaporator from A&A Sheet Metal which I will be converting to oil fired
    Now have solar, 2x6 finish pan, 5 bank 7x7 filter press, large water jacketed bottler, and tankless water heater.
    Recently bought another Gingerich RO, this one was a 125, but a second membrane was added thus is a 250, like I had.
    After running a 2x3, a 2x6, 3x8 tapping from 79 taps up to 1320 all woodfired, now I'm going to a 2x6 oil fired and a 200-425 taps.

Dave, I have a few of these in my expansion area this year as well. Did it matter when you cut the suckers? I decided to let them in place until after maple season so that the tree wouldn't push sap. I am located where the fall sap flow is going on so wouldn't that be just like a fall tapping? Or would it be more like tapping a sapling?
    Matt,
    Minehart Gap Maple

Minehart gap, I would not cut them now, they will weep sap. Cut them after season.

If you have many suckers then you must have a cut over area and they are from stumps or the tree has a lot of dead wood above. I do not see suckers from mature seedling growth much. If they are over 2-4" I'd leave them alone.