+ Reply to Thread

Thread: New spile or used

Default New spile or used

Every now and again, I read or hear that to get the best sap yield you should buy new taps every year. Is there any real science that supports this claim.
    I am not a big producer, 8 - 10 gals per year and have about 30 - 40 taps, but would really like to know.
    Thanks everyone.

Bacteria imbeds itself into the plastic of plastic spouts and when an old tap is reused it then spreads into the tap holes causing them to close up sooner. A new spout or adapter should be used every season for that reason. If you are using metal spouts they should be sanitized when removed and boiled just before you tap to kill any bacteria.
    Russ

"Red Roof Maples" Where the term "boiling soda" was first introduced to the maple world!

1930 Ford Model AA Doodlebug tractor
    A couple of Honda 4 wheelers
    Four chainsaws and no chickens!

OK but I do rinse mine with alcohol after the season. Will that not cure that issue??
    Just wondering.
    Thanks again.

it'll help some... but nothing is as good as a brand new one!
    Awfully thankful for an understanding wife!

“The only place success comes before work is in the dictionary.”
    - Vincent “Vince” Lombardi

Good luck to all!

OK, thanks.

You asked if there was real Science to support new tap use. Here is a quote from Dr Tim Perkins of Proctor Maple Center, a leading researcher on maple syrup production.
    DrTimPerkins
    02-05-2014, 02:13 PM
    If you boil your taps what bacteria could survive that? How is a new spile more sanitary than a sterilized one?If I sold spiles I would suggest replacing every year too.

Not many.....but some microorganisms could survive. Hospitals do not boil instruments any longer to sterilize....they autoclave (steam heat and pressure) them, or simply replace them.