+ Reply to Thread

Thread: filtering

Default filtering

Hello - newbie here. This is my first time syruping on me own. I live in NE MN and tapped 23 trees this spring. I made just under a gallon of syrup this spring using a homemade set up consisting of a 55 gallon barrel and two stainless steel pans with 6 gallon capacity. I filtered my sap multiple times both before boiling, as well as after taking it off the wood fire before bringing it into the house to finish up on the stove. Now that the syrup is bottled, I noticed a decent amount of niter sand has accumulated on the bottom of the jars. How can I filter this again to remove the niter sand? I tried using a coffee filter and that didn't work as barely any syrup moved through the filter in 30 minutes. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.syrup boiler.jpg

If it were me I’d just decant the syrup off the niter sediment. With that small of a volume of syrup you would lose a big percentage of your product in the filter. Next year you could just pour your finished syrup in a big half gallon mason jar and let it settle from a week to a few months then pour off your clear syrup.

Filtering small volumes is a waste of time. The only products that work well for small hobby operations are used in conjunction with each other. That's paper prefilters and an orlon or wool felt cone filter. They soak up a lot of syrup, so typically they are allowed to soak in the next batch of sap to recover the syrup, until you produce enough syrup to justify rinsing the loss away. It makes more sense to let the syrup settle and then decant it. Then bring the temp up to 190 before canning. Any higher will produce more niter.
    CE
    44° 41′ 3″ N

2019 -- 44 Red Maples - My home and sugarbush are for sale.
    2018 -- 48 Red Maples, 7 gallons
    2017 -- 84 Red Maples, 1 Sugar Maple, and 1 Silver Maple , 13 gallons
    2016 -- 55 Red Maples, 8 gallons
    2015 -- 15 Red Maples, 6 Birches - 3+ gallons maple syrup