+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Pricing 2018

Default Pricing 2018

OK now that people want to buy it what should I charge per quart per gallon I’m a hobby producer I’ve seen court to go for $15-$25 gallons go from $50-$75 what should I charge
    Smoky lake full pint on my leader half pint arch
    110 taps on 3/16 vacuum tubing
    Homemade RO sapinator

Set your own prices, we can't tell you.
    As far as pricing goes my thought is to make a good product and be proud of it. My prices are in the middle locally and my sales are good. There are local producers who sell for less and those who sell for more. I suggest you get an idea of what your local, at the sugarhouse prices are and then go somewhere in the middle. I don't think it a good practice to try to meet the local competition on price, that just starts a bidding war which the hobby producer can little afford to participate in. Much of it will also depend on what type of customers you are serving, if your area is totally rural with little tourist trade, the prices will be lower, if your area either has a strong tourist trade or you are closer to a larger metropolitan area, the prices go up.
    Dave Klish, I recently ordered a 2x6 wood fired evaporator from A&A Sheet Metal which I will be converting to oil fired
    Now have solar, 2x6 finish pan, 5 bank 7x7 filter press, large water jacketed bottler, and tankless water heater.
    Recently bought another Gingerich RO, this one was a 125, but a second membrane was added thus is a 250, like I had.
    After running a 2x3, a 2x6, 3x8 tapping from 79 taps up to 1320 all woodfired, now I'm going to a 2x6 oil fired and a 200-425 taps.

Perfect advice. That's exactly what I did. Check around and put it in the middle. Most have a price on there website
    Brian Eldredge
    Mooncusser Maple
    16x24 post and beam sugar shack
    2x8 CDL maple pro Wes fab filter press
    Lots of shiny stuff now I need some more trees