+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Building a new evaporator

Default Building a new evaporator

Hi there, I’m new at this game and I apologize in advance if this has already been covered, but I haven’t seen it yet. I’m just wrapping up my 2nd year. This year we tapped 20 trees and boiled it off using various methods to see which one I preferred. Next year I’d like to tap 30-40 trees and need to upgrade my evaporator.
    My plan is to build a wood fire evaporator that will fit a 16x40 stainless steel pan. I have a propane burner that has 3 30,000 btu burners. I’d like to be able to use the pan on both.
    My question is, will the 3 burner stove produce enough heat to be efficient, or should I just stick to the wood fire evaporator.
    I like the convenience of the propane evaporator and was thinking of using it for smaller batches.
    Any advice would be appreciated.
    Thanks

I guess it depends if you have a plentyfull amount of firewood on hand. I personally would much rather burn wood than propane. But propane can certainly be more convenient at times, with a cost.
    6th season solo sugar maker in a young sugar bush of mostly red maples
    320 taps
    2x6 self built arch, Flat pans w/ dividers
    New 12x16 sugar house
    CDL hobby 250 RO

I agree. For smaller runs just boil shorter or collect for another day then boil. I do like your idea of a longer pan as it will be more efficient than a 2x3 pan.
    Camp Wokanda
    Peoria Park District

2023 - 210 on 3/16 shurflo, sap storage shack w/ 1100 gallon tank - 123 gallons
    2022 - 210 on 3/16 shurflo, homemade vac filter & water jacket canner - 104 gallons
    2021 - 215 on 3/16 shurflo, added 2nd membrane to RO - 78 gallons
    2020 - 210 on 3/16 shurflo, upgraded hp pump on RO - 66 gallons
    2019 - 150 on 3/16 shurflo, Deer Run 125 dolly RO - 73 gallons
    2018 - 120 on 3/16 shurflo, 2x6 raised flue w/hood, homemade arch w/ AUF & AOF - 34.5 gallons

Quote Originally Posted by NhShaun View Post