+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Looking for tips and advice on a new 3/16" tube system

Default Looking for tips and advice on a new 3/16" tube system

Hello All, I've read extensively many of the great posts and discussions you have had here about 3/16" and 5/16" tubing, many thanks to all. I'm a small hobby/fun/family producer but ready to make the improvement to tubing and vacuum. Here's my situation: I'm tapping about 80 taps on about 40 nice mature Red Maples in a relatively consolidated sugar bush (all on about two acres). The sugar shack is built strategically at a low spot in the woods with a small amount of elevation change (about 8-10') to the highest points in all directions. From everyone's input I've gathered here that making four "runs" of 3/16" tubing in different directions each picking up a maximum of 20 taps would be ideal. The longest of these would be about 150' long. And then feeding these four lines into a manifold at a vacuum pump near the sugar shack near the low point would be best. I would love to hear a few of you veteran sap-suckers comment on the ideas I have listed here and offer any suggestions. Particular concerns would be: 1. Recommended make/model/size of shurflow pump (must be 12vDC for solar panel and battery setup). 2.Controller for startup and shut down when freezing. 3. Is the 3/16" tubing run on four lines the right idea. 4. Suggested tap/check valve type. 5. Any plumbing suggestions like around the manifold or pumping up to a storage tank or a bypass line.
    Many Thanks to all,
    Rick

Looks like you have a good plan and should be successful with it. To answer your questions:

1. Many use Shurflo 4008 with good results. It isn't the largest model but it is a good price and for the number of taps you have it will work good.

2. I used a basic controller off of amazon. They are mostly the same and easy to setup.

3. I think you are right on here.