Closed Thread

Thread: DIY Barrel Evaporator Build (Detailed)

Default DIY Barrel Evaporator Build (Detailed)

I’m new to sugaring, and MapleTrader has been a great resource, so I figured I’d add my experience in hopes it will help someone the way so many posts have helped me.

Build take one: Bought a 55 gallon drum from craigslist; burning paint smelled awful, wonder if it was carcinogenic.

Take two: Bought an unfinished 55 gallon drum from local company. Used a six-inch deep steam pan. Only evaporated one gallon per hour – WAY too slow. Lots of soot around pan, probably because I cut the hole a little too big. Burn created tons of coals in the arch.

Take three: From the ground up:

Foundation is some pallets I picked up for free locally. The idea is I can move it around with the tractor from storage to the driveway. Also raises it up so I don’t need to bend over as much. I bolted the arch to the pallet. Price: $0 for pallets, plus a few nails, and $8 for stainless hardware from Lowes. Tools used: crowbar, hammer, drill, screwdriver.

Barrel is an unpainted one from a local company. Price $30.

Legs and door are from a barrel stove kit from Tractor Supply. Price $50. Tools used: angle grinder to cut holes (cutting wheel plus sanding flap wheel, true for all following angle grinder use), drill, screwdriver, wrench.

I lined the bottom of the barrel with firebricks I had lying around.

I bought a cast iron grate to get air under the fire. Price: $50 from Amazon. Tools used: wrench.

Angle iron used to hold pan. Price: $10 for angle iron from local welding supply, a buck for the hardware. Tools used: angle grinder, drill, screwdriver, wrench.