+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Couple questions on shurflo pumps

Hybrid View

Default Couple questions on shurflo pumps

After collecting buckets for years I've had enough. Just a hobby producer trying to make 20ish gallons a year wanting to make the transition to vacuum. Based on what I've read seems like a shurflo pump is the best option for us financially (ie there cheap). I have 13 acres of mostly reds, and as we all know they can be quite varied in production with buckets and bags. My property is pretty long and narrow (350ishft x 2000ishft) and the maple trees are sporadically clustered throughout. Our land is very flat with the lowest area about 100ft behind the sugar shack, which is about 1500ft from my back property line. After doing some research on this site I still have a few questions, keep in mind I'm a total rookie when it comes to tubing and vacuum.

1. Is it better to use a mainline with a shurflo or should I use a pvc manifold with several 5/16 lines coming in? Why?

2. Should I place the pump near the middle of my property or at the lowest point (keep in mind the lowest point is not much lower than the rest of the property)? Also I could run a cord to the lowest area but the middle of the property is without power.

3. Will a shurflo pump really make that much of a difference with my reds in terms of sap volume? Will the trees that barely drip still produce very little or will there be a noticeable increase?

I think thats it for now, thanks. -justin