+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Avoiding Ropey Syrup

Default Avoiding Ropey Syrup

As I am new to flue pan operation this year and we had a high of 66 today and continuing to be warm until midday tomorrow, do I need to do anything to avoid ropey syrup caused by bacteria that love this weather?

I boiled today and probably will boil tomorrow too. The feed float box is what has me concerned.
    Smoky Lake 2x6 fuel-oil fired, raised flue, hoods, SSR, concentric exhaust
    Home-built auto draw off
    Home-built RO - double XLE 4040, PLC controlled
    8x10 Sugar Shed
    200 taps on tubing with Shurflo vacuum with solar
    https://www.facebook.com/flowercitymaplesyrup/

Haynes Forest Products Guest

I had a friend that I RO ed some sap for and he let iut sit a few days before cooking and then let it sit in his pan in warm weather and it was like STP. it was beautiful stuff but was like crude oil coming out the draw off valve.

UVM Proctor Maple Research Center, Underhill Ctr, VT

Before you shut down pull some boiling sweet off your backpan and pour it in the float box to kill anything. Boil a bit longer, then shut down.
    Dr. Tim Perkins
    UVM Proctor Maple Research Ctr
    http://www.uvm.edu/~pmrc
    https://mapleresearch.org
    Timothy.Perkins@uvm.edu

Does ropey mean exceptionally thick? Amateur just trying to learn the lingo , thx!!

Quote Originally Posted by DrTimPerkins View Post
    Before you shut down pull some boiling sweet off your backpan and pour it in the float box to kill anything. Boil a bit longer, then shut down.
    Ropey sweet in the pans is about the worst thing that can happen. All of your hard work in the woods, collecting, and boiling is wasted. You are right to be on top of this early. This is way too warm for February. In the past, I've done maintenance boils on off days and still had ropey sweet develop.