+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Weather question vs sap run

Default Weather question vs sap run

Hello all,

This is my first year tapping in south central PA. I know the sweet spot is low 20’s at night and 40 during the day. Do you see much run if it is 28 low and 34 high or does it need to get warmer, bigger spread? How soon after the “perfect” swing of temps do you see sap and how long does it run if it fails to go below freezing for a few days.

This is the only chart I can find that shows sap run and temp swings.
    81B6ECA4-A6EC-4766-8C93-2BD9BB9AC197.jpg

Thanks everyone,

Joe

On gravity you generally will not get much if any flow at 34F. On the other end, 28 works but anything 27 or under gets better in my experience. The main thing at this point is that if you have had nearly as much cold as we have, those trees will need time to thaw. Some old timers used to go by the bare ring that develops around a tree, the sap won't flow good until those "donuts" appear. You might get some but it won't flow good yet. Of course that won't work if there is no snow cover to go by.
    Last edited by maple flats; 01-26-2018 at 09:14 AM.
    Dave Klish, I recently ordered a 2x6 wood fired evaporator from A&A Sheet Metal which I will be converting to oil fired
    Now have solar, 2x6 finish pan, 5 bank 7x7 filter press, large water jacketed bottler, and tankless water heater.
    Recently bought another Gingerich RO, this one was a 125, but a second membrane was added thus is a 250, like I had.
    After running a 2x3, a 2x6, 3x8 tapping from 79 taps up to 1320 all woodfired, now I'm going to a 2x6 oil fired and a 200-425 taps.

UVM Proctor Maple Research Center, Underhill Ctr, VT

Quote Originally Posted by maple flats View Post
    Some old timers used to go by the bare ring that develops around a tree, the sap won't flow good until those "donuts" appear.