+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Northern IN

Default Northern IN

I'm in Elkhart county. Looking at forecast we are going to be above freezing a couple of days, then go back to deep freeze for a bit. It seems awfully early, but on the other hand there could be a nice run. Should I go ahead and tap? Do I need to pull taps and redrill after cold or can I leave them? I'm a very amateur hobbyist.

Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk

While I'm no pro. You don't have to re-tap after a cold spell. I almost tapped today, but decided to try and wait till next week just because it seems so early, but you just never know what the weather is going to do. I think the only issue with tapping early is that your taps will seal off after a while, tree healing itself and you don't want that to happen too early and miss the season. I'm not exactly sure how long they will run, probably a month or 2. By the way it's the cold spells and then warm spells that make the sap flow. So if we don't have many cold to warm spells, makes for a bad season. It does seem like the sap season has been early the last few years. There are several on here who have already tapped as you can see.

Hope this helps, good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by BrierPatch

Hope this helps, good luck!
    Thanks for the advice! I may put in a couple take this weekend to see what happens...

Sent from my XT1034 using Tapatalk

You are farther north than me (near Bloomington), but I tapped last week and am anticipating a big run that hopefully started today, and with temps here in the 40's and low 50's with freezing at night it should be good...I typically tap when I see a forecast of more than 4 days in a row over 40. This is the earliest I have tapped, but I missed a couple of runs last year, so I'm playing the better safe than sorry game. Good luck!
    2014 - 8 taps, turkey fryer, 130 gallons sap, just under 2.5 gallons syrup.
    2015 - 50 taps and counting.