+ Reply to Thread

Thread: How much sap can I expect to get from my trees?

Default How much sap can I expect to get from my trees?

Last year was my first year making syrup and I really enjoyed it but only made 6.5 gallons off of 45 ish taps. Our taps were split between 12 yard trees that were very good producers and 33 forest trees that were not. We only collected 240 gallons of sap which I thought was a bit low, online I often read that a maple tree produces 10-20 gal for the season but I only got half of that. Given the production I got this year I was thinking about doubling my taps but if the low production was due to an odd year I want to be careful about drowning in sap.

What do you guys usually see for sap quantity per tree? I was using 5/16 taps on drop lines into buckets.
    2017 - 45 taps on buckets 260gal sap 6gal syrup
    2018 - 92 taps on bags

All boiled on a homemade 2x5 fuel oil evaporator using 6 steam pans

I've been making syrup every year since 2003, before that I made it some years just for family use. Last year was my lowest sap yield ever, sap amount was down slightly and everything was on vacuum (19" on one bush and 24" on another bush). Then my sugar % was the lowest ever. My sugar % for the total season was only 1.25% and my highest for any one day was 1.8%.