+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help identifying bottled syrup issue.

Default Help identifying bottled syrup issue.

I should know the answer to this! Kind of embarrassed to ask. I have a jug of syrup on the shelf that has the sides "sucked in". I'm guessing some kind of contamination in the bottle? Fermented? Have not cracked it open yet to check. I have scores of other bottles and they are all good. It's all from this spring. Thought it was weird that this one random bacon jug is like this. Never had it happen before.
    More taps than the year before. Bigger shack than the year before. Leader Patriot 2x6 w/hood. 3-post Dolly, but still too much sap and not enough wood or time.
    www.wickedsappy.com

I'm new to sugaring but I'm pretty good at physics. So I'll offer up my 2 cents:
    - it can't be an organic reaction because that would create gas and expand your container.
    - it seems more likely that there was enough empty headspace over the warm syrup when it was bottled that it created a vacuum when it cooled that was enough to cave in the container.
    Ken & Sherry
    Williston, VT
    16x34 Sugarhouse
    1,500 taps on high vacuum, Electric Releaser & CDL Sap Lifter
    Wood-Fired Leader 30"x10' Vortex Arch & Max Raised Flue with Rev Syrup Pan & CDL1200 RO
    https://www.facebook.com/pumpkinhillmaple/

I agree with Ken. Perhaps you thought the jug was full but really had excess foam in it causing a void.
    shrunken producer, from 8,000 taps to 4,000 to 5800 to 9500 to 11,000 vac
    5x16 woodchip fired evaporator with 5x10 max flue and 5x6 revolution front pan
    CDL 20+ RO
    Double 10"filterpress

sp-11, bb2, airtech L63, L160, L230 vac pumps
    CDL low profile electric releaser
    MES 8000 electric releaser
    CDL 4000 tap mechanical releaser