+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How long can the sweet stuff sit?

Default How long can the sweet stuff sit?

I'm new to running a real evaporator and have always cooked batches. With a 2x6, once the pans are sweet and you shut down, I assume you cover the syrup pans with something (plywood?) and wait for the next run. Since the stuff has been sterilized I guess it can sit for a while, but how long is reasonable between firings?
    John
    2x8 Smokylake drop flue with AOF/ AUF
    180 taps on sacks
    75 on 3/16 tubing with shurflo
    Eden Prairie, Minnesota

If it looks to me that it's gonna be more than a couple days, I bring it to a short boil, then let the fire go out. Once it's safe to do so, I drain into 5 gallon buckets with tight lids, chasing it with water. Then flush & clean the pans, once everythings cool enough.

When I'm ready to start boiling again, I put the sweetest in the syrup pan, working my way back to the flue pan with the thinner stuff.
    Tons of trees. No taps, No evaporator
    No wife, No Kids. Nothing left but Dreams

In the past I have let my 2x6 sit for as long as 2 weeks but in addition to being sterilized it sat frozen for that period. I left the syrup pan open back into the flue pan the condensed sap would sweeten the flue pan so that it never froze hard enough to hurt anyting.
    Jon
    2 1/8 x 8 Leader Inferno Arch W/ steamaway , hood and Marcland auto drawoff
    M6040 Kubota w/ cab and lift
    Arctic Cat Prowler
    http://jwhitjw.spaces.live.com/photo...D0BF1C18E!116/

I do exactly what ibby does. I will let it sit (after being boiled) for a few days but when the temp headed for 70+ this week I drained the rig. On a 2x6 it's not too bad to drain it out.

What do you use for covers while it sits in the pans? Got to keep critters out and any dust/debris.
    John
    2x8 Smokylake drop flue with AOF/ AUF
    180 taps on sacks
    75 on 3/16 tubing with shurflo
    Eden Prairie, Minnesota