+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Storing sap

Default Storing sap

Newbie here, collecting sap for the first time. I've read that you should only store sap in your refrigerator for about a week. Can anybody confirm or deny? I started collecting late last week and have about 2 gallons. Was hoping to boil all my sap down at the same time, so ideally I'd like to store my sap for three weeks or so I guess? Can it keep in the refrigerator that long? Should I freeze it? Should I boil it down soon to make a batch of syrup and then make another batch later in early spring? Thoughts or suggestions?

Like milk. A few days at fridge temps. Beyond that, freeze it.
    Big_Eddy
    Eastern Ontario (Quinte)
    20+ years on a 2x3 block arch,
    Homemade 20"x64" drop flue since 2011

Build a Block Arch
    Build a Flat Pan
    Build a Flue Pan
    Sweetening the Pans
    Build a Bending Brake
    Using a Hydrotherm
    How much Sap to Sweeten?

Okay, and I'll be able to freeze it and use it all at the same time once the sap stops flowing?

I'd boil as you go and then refrigerate the "near syrup" because that will be sterilized and will keep better, then finish it all at once. I think you'll be surprised how slowly it boils if you have not done that yet.
    Noel Good
    1998 to 2009: 15 taps on buckets, scavenged fire pit and pans
    2010: New 2x4 SS flat pan w/preheater
    2015: New to me Lapierre 18x60 raised flue, new shack, new everything!! 59 taps 23.75 gallons
    2016: 85 taps 19 gallons
    2017: Purchased 2.5 acres and tubed half with 3/16. 145 taps total 49.25 gallons
    2018: 200 taps (162 on 3/16ths 38 on buckets) New NextGen RO 63 gallons
    2019: 210 taps 73.5 gallons
    2023: 210 taps 89.75 gallons
    www.wnybass.com