+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Management Of Poison Ivy Around Trees?

Default Management Of Poison Ivy Around Trees?

Hi, if this has been addressed somewhere else, please point it out to me and I will delete this thread

We are located in Eastern Ontario, Canada, and this will be our first year tapping the trees on our 14 acre property.
    We have some really nice maples, and of course they're located right in a huge patch of poison ivy.
    I was wondering if anybody else has dealt with this issue? Mainly I'm wondering about the use of RoundUP or Brush B-Gone; will this go into the soil and harm the trees and/or end up in the sap? Is there a specific amount of time I should wait before using these trees again? I can't find any information on this anywhere else.

Thoughts and ideas?

Thanks gang!

I have a lot of experience with RoundUp, but not in this context. I know that it will kill trees through their roots if sprayed very heavily and indiscriminately to the point where it never dries before contacting the roots. In this situation, I would consider very careful spot spraying or even brushing a wet towel or even a paint brush over the poison ivy leaves. You don't have to touch every leaf. Usually 2-3 per vine is good enough. I'm going to make the assumption that poison ivy qualifies as a broadleaf and suggest a broadleaf-specific herbicide called 2-4-D or Weedar 64. This can be mixed with RoundUp or just mixed with water. Commercial grade herbicide can be purchased at a feed store. The kind of RoundUp you can get at Home Depot isn't likely to be strong enough to kill poison ivy.
    CE
    44° 41′ 3″ N

2019 -- 44 Red Maples - My home and sugarbush are for sale.
    2018 -- 48 Red Maples, 7 gallons
    2017 -- 84 Red Maples, 1 Sugar Maple, and 1 Silver Maple , 13 gallons
    2016 -- 55 Red Maples, 8 gallons
    2015 -- 15 Red Maples, 6 Birches - 3+ gallons maple syrup
    An awning over my deck is my sugar shack.