+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning up old spiles?

Default Cleaning up old spiles?

Hello all. Newbie here. Been backyard boiling for a few years with a friend. This year we are stepping up with a new arch and more taps. Anywho...we have about 500 old spiles from my friend's great grandfather's syrup operation. They are pretty rusty, so we are trying to figure out the best way to clean them up. Any suggestions? Thanks ahead of time.

Vinegar may cut thought the rust for you. I use a vinegar/water mix to shine up my stainless pans at the beginning of the year.
    100-110 buckets
    Leader 7.5" 3 Bank filter press (2023)
    RO Bucket RB10 (2017) upgraded to RB20 (2020)
    Homemade oil tank arch
    Homemade stainless pans
    12x16 Sugar Shack (new 2020)

If it were me I wouldn't use them at all. Some older steel spiles may contain lead. I wouldn't want to risk that in my syrup. New plastic spiles are cheap especially in bulk. Many newer spiles both plastic and metal are smaller in diameter and less damaging to the tree as well.
    “A sap-run is the sweet good-bye of winter. It is the fruit of the equal marriage of the sun and frost.”
    ~John Burroughs, "Signs and Seasons", 1886

backyard mapler since 2006 using anything to get the job done from wood stove to camp stove to even crockpots.
    2012- moved up to a 2 pan block arch
    2013- plan to add another hotel pan and shoot for 5-6 gallons
    Thinking small is best for me so probably won't get any bigger.

lpakiz Guest

I agree in principal with Happy Thoughts.
    But If you want to remove the rust, didn't Coca-Cola cut rust in grade school science? Maybe the same process as the vinegar.

Old taps rusty?