+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Wireless Main Line Tips

Default Wireless Main Line Tips

I have a chance to run tubing in a new sugarbush. The owner doesn't mind if the tubing is left up all year, but does not want any wire strung up. There are about 300 possible taps and the terrain has a gentle slope to it. (6% to 15%) I was wondering what the best way to install a tubing system. What is the best mainline tubing to use is? I saw videos on rapidtube but not sure about it. I was also wondering what to use as side ties. Does the material that rapitube uses need to be used, or will a plastic landscaping chain work. They are both similar, but I don't know the difference. I don't have to pay for a lease so I don't want to let this opportunity go by. Any information would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks.

Bill

I have been using "wireless" mainline in some areas for several years. In some low slope areas <2% I have added wire to these installations as I have found it is tricky to keep the mainline from sagging during the warmer part of the season, especially with black pipe. But, it areas with decent slope, it works great as long as you stretch it tight and if you set it up in the winter, you will have to tighten it during the season.

I have done it a few different ways, but I generally try to run the mainline straight and use tension grips at each end of the run with a ratchet tensioner at the end tree. This way I can add tension easily if needed. I do use a few side ties with the rapi-strap material, but I have come to rely more and more on supports made from rough sawn 2x2s or something similar. Generally I put these every 10-15' depending upon the slope. I use a clinometer to keep the lines at a consistent slope and put a nail or screw in the post to support the mainline and then wire tie it to the pipe.