+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Tapping too early

Default Tapping too early

I have been tapping and making syrup for a few years as a hobby with friends. I recently moved from NY to Maine and now have approximately 100 acres with many Maple trees. This year I had a barrel stove evaporator made and have upped the number of tapping supplies in order to accommodate tapping a larger number of trees. I started tapping last weekend and I have not seen a drop of sap. I know that with the weather that we are having it may have been a little early to tap. Are these taps going to be OK? So far I have done approximately 20 trees that have 5/16 or 7/16 Spiles with the Sap Sak Holders. Should I hold off with the rest of the trees?
    Advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Thanks,
    Jason

Your taps will be fine. Very little happening for me as well. I fnished tapping a week ago and have only collected around 15 gallons out of the 200+ that are tapped. I would go ahead and tap so you will be ready when it starts to flow. Last year I didn't start to get good runs untill the last week of March. Mother nature just doesn't seem to want to let go of her grip on winter just yet.
    2019 99 taps on buckets (95 red & 4 sugar)
    W.F. Mason 2x4 XL

Quote Originally Posted by Jal-Bear View Post
    Your taps will be fine. Very little happening for me as well. I fnished tapping a week ago and have only collected around 15 gallons out of the 200+ that are tapped. I would go ahead and tap so you will be ready when it starts to flow. Last year I didn't start to get good runs untill the last week of March. Mother nature just doesn't seem to want to let go of her grip on winter just yet.
    Thank you, I will tap the rest of the trees today and Friday.
    One other question for you if you don't mind,