+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Stove pipe question

Default Stove pipe question

Hello everyone,
    I am new here and have really enjoyed all of the information this site has to offer. this is my first year tapping trees and I'm starting small with 10 red maples I have on my property. I am building a small evaporator on the cheap with an old file cabinet, bed frame, and some cement board I have laying around. My question is on the stove pipe. I have some unused heating ducting laying around and I am wondering if this would be okay to use. Is this stuff galvanized and does that pose a danger? It will be used strictly outside and I'm just looking to get through this years batch. I am trying to not spend a lot of money to keep my wife happy. I have attached a couple of pictures of my build so far so you can idea of the size.

Thanks for any input.IMG_0159.jpgIMG_0160.jpg

Thin wall and won't last long, but I could get a season out of it. I worked construction and I had a ready supply of it and used it for years, new every year, and never bought a piece. Now that I have to buy it I buy stove pipe.
    200 Taps homemade 27x76 evaporator with 48" flued pan,

www.tessiersfarm.com

What he said, it should get you through one or two seasons. Especially if you are only boiling 10 taps worth. Nice build using some materials you had laying around.

If you take it down at the end of the season, rinse it out with a garden hose, dry it, and store it in a dry place, you might get years of use out of it. And you'll be able to point out to your wife how cost conscious you are being. If you leave it out in the weather, it might not be there next season.
    CE
    44° 41′ 3″ N

2019 -- 44 Red Maples - My home and sugarbush are for sale.
    2018 -- 48 Red Maples, 7 gallons
    2017 -- 84 Red Maples, 1 Sugar Maple, and 1 Silver Maple , 13 gallons
    2016 -- 55 Red Maples, 8 gallons
    2015 -- 15 Red Maples, 6 Birches - 3+ gallons maple syrup
    An awning over my deck is my sugar shack.