+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: When is too early?

Question When is too early?

I'm not a pro but I have been making a few gallons with my kid for ten years now. I guess this will be the tenth. I can't recall ever having tapped in January but the extended forecast looks really good. I'm not ready, my new evaporator isn't even done yet but I have the old one. Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Tapping to early you run the risk of your holes closing. Once it gets cold again and the sap stops flowing.

Up here in NH when using buckets it isn't a good idea to tap before the 1st of March even if the weather looks favorable.
    Russ

"Red Roof Maples" Where the term "boiling soda" was first introduced to the maple world!

1930 Ford Model AA Doodlebug tractor
    A couple of Honda 4 wheelers
    Four chainsaws and no chickens!

Just my .02... If tapping for an early season I half tap my trees..in other words if the tree gets 2 taps then put one in...if you need you can always tap the other in or move the one that dries up....Simple fact is that you can't boil the sap that is still in the trees...
    Chris Hicks
    The Sugar House at Morningstar Farm
    24x50 sugar House
    New 4x12 reverse fired leader arch and steam away
    new h2o innovations 1000 gph r.o.
    it's time to get back in the woods!
    www.sappyguys.com
    603-479-0804

Thanks all,
    We put half a dozen in yesterday, which is about half of what I usually use. I did order some check valve taps over the weekend as they claim they help with closed holes from early tapping. Here in RI the season can be very, very short as it warms up so fast sometimes.

Good luck...keep us posted please
    Chris Hicks
    The Sugar House at Morningstar Farm
    24x50 sugar House
    New 4x12 reverse fired leader arch and steam away
    new h2o innovations 1000 gph r.o.
    it's time to get back in the woods!
    www.sappyguys.com
    603-479-0804