+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: gearing up for the upcoming season

Default gearing up for the upcoming season

Hello everybody, i am new to this, and the up coming season will be my first in collection, and cooking down sap to produce syrup. I was just wondering if i am headed in the right direction in the way of equipment needed. I will be doing this as a hobby and hope to end up with about 5 gallons of syrup. So far i have identified and marked about 30 sugar maples with an average diameter of 15" does this seem like enough to make 5 gallons? And as for gear i have 30 taps with drop lines, i have 10 5 gallon food grade buckets with leaktite lids, and i have been saving my empty milk jugs. I have also been splitting ash wood, and groing my woodpile for the sap evaporating. I am planning on making an "evaporator" out of cinder blocks, and placing a grill grate over the top. I then plan to place steam table pans filled with sap over the fire to evaporate. Does this sound good as a first timer with limited funds? If you have any tips or corrective coridisism please dont hesitate! Thank you for your time!

Where r u at in pa I'm from Bradford co.if u call me maybe I help u out my no. Is 1 570 529 3350 name is ray
    Bixby's Maple Syrup